Zurück zur Übersicht
7 Stone Riot - Scratching The Surface 
Author: Medicine Man
Hinzugefügt am: 16.07.2018 12:03


7 Stone Riot
Scratching The Surface 
4 July 2018
Band/Artist: 7 Stone Riot
Album Title: Scratching The Surface
Release Date: July 4th, 2018
Label: Independent
Genre: Hard Rock
Album Length: 21 minutes
Country: Birmingham AL

‘Scratching The Surface’ is 7 Stone Riot’s first studio EP. Recorded with Multi-Platinum producer (‘To Leave A Whisper’- Shinedown) Rick Beato and producer/engineer Ken Lanyon. Scratching The Surface is a hard rock record that has a mainstream feel to it. They really focused on harnessing the underground side of rock all the while keeping it radio friendly. 7SR was influenced by A Perfect Circle, Sevendust, Alter Bridge and Tesseract on this EP.

Influences for album:
A Perfect Circle, Tesseract, Shinedown, Karnivool, Disturbed, Sevendust

Sounds like:
Breaking Benjamin, Karnivool, Tool, Sevendust

Tack Suggestions:
Talking in Circles
Scratching the Surface

7 Stone Riot is a  5-piece hard rock band from Helena, AL (suburb of Birmingham, AL) formed in 2012. Current members include; Whit Millsap (lead vocals), Tyler Millsap (bass/backup vocals), Reid Aldridge (lead guitar), Jeff Leng (drums, backup vocals), and Todd Millsap (rhythm guitar). Whit, Reid and Tyler begin this journey all with the same goal in mind. They wanted to perform their own music in front of the masses.

They chose to start out as a cover band playing the songs they grew up listening to. Some of the bands covered in their set were Alice In Chains, Pearl Jam, Stone Temple Pilots, Fuel, Creed, etc. Doing this helped them find which route they would take when it came to songwriting. After a couple of years of cover gigs, 7SR decided to become exclusively an all original band. They started writing music and playing shows with national and regional acts here and there. In January of 2015 they went out on their first tour.

The band has played with US National bands Hinder, Trapt, Butcher Babies, Nonpoint, Like A Storm, Otherwise, Fozzy, Adelitas Way and their good friend Bo Bice of Helena, AL. 7SR released ‘Scratching The Surface,’ a 5 song EP on July 4, 2018 to all digital platforms and physical CD’s. ’Scratching The Surface,’ was produced/engineered by multi-platinum producer Rick Beato and Ken ‘GL’ Lanyon. Before the release of the EP, 7SR released the single ‘Time Will Tell’ in 2016 and ‘Im Alive’ in 2017.

The single “I’m Alive” was debuted at the 2017 Alabama Music Awards Show, hosted at the BJCC Theater Hall. Now that the EP is released 7SR will be releasing ‘Talking In Circles’ as the new single in 2018! Check it out now!!

Band Members:
Whit Millsap - lead singer
Reid Aldridge - lead guitar
Tyler Millsap - bass
Todd Millsap - rhythm guitar
Jeff Leng - drums

CD Track Listing:
1- Scratching The Surface
2- I’m Alive
3- Blind
4- Time Will Tell
5- Talking In Circles